Oh Kashmir you are not just a comfy material for sweaters…

I’d like to do a blog purge and just kinda go on tangent after tangent about how humans need to stop being so fucking self involved, but that would just be ironic.

So instead, I’ll talk about how depressed it made me to this tagline below a column on the BBC News website titled, “Expert View: Biswas on India”: Why it may soon be too late for a political solution in Kashmir

Too late?? Too… late??

As I recall, Pakistan and India have been fighting over Kashmir for as long as Israel and Palestine have been fighting (1947, if I remember correctly – which isn’t a guarantee) – and neither Israel nor Palestine seem to be anywhere near saying something similar.

Personally, I don’t know much about the Israel/Palestine conflict aside from what I’ve read up on it and had conversations with friends about the situation, and honestly I know even less about Kashmir.

Basically from my understanding, we can blame the British for both conflicts since they (both) started when Britain told them “screw this, I’m done with the area” and gave it to whomever asked for it more nicely.

Of course, I’m sure there’s more to it than that and I’m sure that Palestine was very nice when they asked to have the land, and I’m sure that Britain didn’t mean to leave Kashmir essentially no-man’s-land (with the current ruler of Kashmir at the time deciding to join India).

And yet, that’s how the cookie crumbled.

But to read that an “expert” was concerned that it may be “too late” for a political resolution about this area was just… disheartening.

As a complete idealist when it comes to how the world should be (I lean more towards realist/cynical when asked how the world actually is), I feel that even putting out into the universe such negativity will breed just that: negativity.  So rather than throwing their hands in the air and saying “Oh crap, none of this has been working for the last 60+ years, looks like it’s militia time” why can’t someone look at it and say, “Hey, let’s have some tea, maybe a few rotti’s and talk this stuff out because obviously our sneaky ops idea didn’t work too well and neither did our formal talks – so let’s just hang out and hash it out over afternoon tea.”

Hug it out. That’s all I’m saying.

And if you want to read the article and more about the latest Kashmir fight, please visit:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-south-asia-11308539 (about the formal talks breaking down)

http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/thereporters/soutikbiswas/2010/09/kashmir_on_the_brink.html (“Kashmir on the Brink”)

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

