Ready for the new year

Even though there is still another month and odd days left before we say goodbye to 2010 and hello to a fresh 2011, I’m ready now to see the new year.

I’m ready to let go to my fleeting year of whimsy and hello to the next chapter.

A (hopefully) more focused, less wonder-struck (however minimally) version of myself.

One that’s ready to simmer down. Slow down.

Breathe.

This year ended with high-highs, low-lows and confusion of the most epic of proportions. Fortunately, it’s also ending more clear headed, more driven, more eye-on-the-prize than I’ve ever felt.

And not just about my career.

Or my future academic aspiriations.

But about me. About who I am.

I know I was really behind in the accepting-thyself phase of life but I think I’m starting to come around. I’m not hiding behind raver nicknames, or dwelling in pain from years ago.

I’m stepping out of my shell, albeit in slow baby steps, but it’s starting. Slowly but surely, I’m figuring myself out; I’m putting myself out there instead of hiding.

And you know what?

I’m laughing a lot more than I thought I would 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

