Using the Crock pot – Adventure #1: Chili

I wanted to start of basic. I had tried stews. I had tried… other things (I can’t remember what), but all had failed. And then S, a culinary/financial/general Renaissance man-friend suggested I try Chili. Or at least, I think that’s how it happened.

And then I remember consulting about two other people on the matter because I was so indecisive.

Regardless, I wound up going off the basic guidelines of a recipe on Allrecipes.com. It’s called: It’s Chili by George and you can find the original recipe by clicking on that link. Below is how I made it, with my modifications.

– 1.6ish pounds of beef (80/20)

– 36 oz tomato juice

– 1 (10 oz can) of Rotel

– 1 (15 oz) can of organic kidney beans, drained and rinsed

– 1 (15 oz) can of pinto beans, drained and rinsed

– 1/2 a green bell pepper diced

– 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

– 4 oz diced jalapenos, drained

– 1/2 teaspoon white sugar

– 3/4 teaspoon oregano

– 1/2 teaspoon black pepper

– 1 teaspoon salt

– 3/4 teaspoon chili powder

– 2 teaspoon cumin

Cook beef thoroughly on stove until browned, then drain before putting in crock pot. Add in all other ingredients and stir. Set on low and cook for 6-8 hours.

Everything in slow cooker before starting

A second, more blurry shot

And the cooking has begun!

Almossst there!

Yay eating time!

Another blurry post of the finished product

This turned out amazing! At first I was worried because the consistency seemed to be what I expected the ideal end bowl to look like and then midway through when I peeked (yea, I’m terrible at the ‘walk away and leave it’ benefit of the slow cooker) it was so watery I was scared I’d have to drain it (like I did with the stew). But after six hours I tasted it and it was perfect – and two hours early! 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

