Sunday morning run – take 1

Last night I was determined to get up at the ass crack of dawn and pound out 3k. I had my workout clothes laid out and alarms set for 5:45, 6, and finally 6:30.

Of course, in typically klykii fashion the thought of something exciting (i.e: actually completing the 3k) kept me awake and restless. So when I finally turned off the lights after midnight, I knew it was going to be a rough morning.

Especially since the darkness didn’t help me get to sleep any faster.

I don’t remember shutting off the 5:45 alarm, and I vaguely recall turning off the one at 6 and when the 6:30 alarm went off I knew it was then or never (since I have plans every Sunday with a friend). So I tumbled out of bed and begrudgingly got ready.

The workout was great and terrible at the same time. I worked out at a different location, on a new treadmill and despite the fact I ran 4.0, 4.2, 5.0 and 5.2 speeds a various times for at least a minute, my time was significantly lower.

This could have to do with the fact that I accidentally hit the pause button twice mid-workout, effectively altering what my average pace would be for the entire workout since I didn’t think to stop the Nike+ workout on my ipod.

It was no excuse, because I was tired, I was groggy and even though I was pushing myself I still felt… bunched up. Which isn’t a great way of putting it but that’s really how it seemed. It was like I knew my legs could extend further, higher but they wouldn’t. They did however, on my faster runs on 4.0 but not for long. It seemed like my best was at 4.0-4.2 as far as run speed. I was able to maintain it longer than before, up to 2 full minutes. But as far as the 5.0+ I’m still struggling with making it the full 60 seconds.

 

Categories: running | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

